DC Board of Architecture and Interior Design Licensing information

All links labeled require you to have Adobe Reader installed on your computer. These links will open in a new browser window.


The DC Board of Architecture and Interior Design regulates the practice of architecture and the practice of interior design and protects consumers by upholding the District of Columbia Architecture license law and the Interior Design license law . The architecture and interior design license laws are defined by the District of Columbia Second Omnibus Regulatory Act of 1998 (Omnibus), which took effect on April 20, 1999.

The Board consists of seven members appointed by the Mayor. Three members shall be architects, three shall be interior designers, and one shall be a consumer member. Four members of the Board constitute a quorum.

The Board meets every six weeks at 9:30 a.m. at the DCRA headquarters, located at 1100 4th Street SW, Washington, DC 20024. The Board can be reached by phone: (202) 442-4320 or fax: (202) 698-4329.

Executive Director: Leon Lewis, Leon.Lewis@dc.gov
Board Administrator: Patrice Richardson, Patrice.richardson@dc.gov
Education Coordinator: Kevin Cyrus, Kevin.Cyrus@dc.gov
Board Assistant: Stephanie Johnston, Stephanie.Johnston@dc.gov

Current Board Members

  • Ronnie McGhee – Chair (Architect)
  • Cametrick Nesmith – Architect
  • Patrick Williams – Architect
  • Lisa Adams – Interior Design Member
  • Kerry Touchette – Interior Designer
  • Wanda Sherrod – Consumer Member
  • 1 vacancy

2015 Meeting Dates:

Board meeting minutes are available at www.open-dc.gov.

License Search / News / Publications and Forms


Online License Renewal Cycle will begin February 1, 2016 and ends April 30, 2016

Paper service requests will no longer be accepted and will be returned to the address indicated on the application.

On August 17, 2012, final rulemaking amending Title 17 Chapter 32 (Interior Designers) and Chapter 34 (Architects) was published in the DC register. Read more

Reminder: Architect licenses expire on April 30, 2016. In addition to meeting all other requirements, an active architect must have completed 24 Professional Development Units (PDU) for each two-year renewal period. All of the PDUs must be in the Health, Safety and Welfare category; 16 must be obtained in structured educational activities, while the remaining 8 may be obtained in structured educational activities OR in individually planned educational activities. FAQs

Annual Reports


Licensing / Resources


Online licensing services are a quick, convenient, and environmentally responsible way to manage your licensing needs.


The Board is committed to professional development and consumer protection. The following links provide a wealth of additional information.